Two Sligo Rovers players named in home based U-21 squad

Two Sligo Rovers players named in home based U-21 squad

Gary Boylan pictured in action for Sligo Rovers against Limerick. Gary and Rovers team mate Regan Donelon have been called up to the Ireland U-21 home based squad.

Sligo Rovers duo Gary Boylan and Regan Donelon have been named in the Republic of Ireland home-based U-21 squad for a training game against the Ireland Amateur international side in Dublin's AUL Complex on Saturday, February 11.

Boylan and Donelon both progressed from the Sligo Rovers U-19 team and are now regular fixtures in the Rovers first team.

Speaking at the squad announcement Ireland U-21 manager Noel King said, "We've organised games like this in every tournament we have competed in as preparation for our UEFA Qualifiers. Against Gerry Smith’s sides in the past we have found them to be very beneficial. We have seen players become first team regulars at their Irish clubs, many have also become regulars in the U21 team while some have also moved to the UK and become full-time professionals," said King.

Players who have played in similar games in recent years include: Aaron Greene, Paddy Madden, Enda Stevens and Andy Boyle (2010), Daryl Horgan, Gearoid Morrissey and Kevin Dawson (2011), Robbie Benson, Chris Forrester and Barry McNamee (2013), John Kavanagh, Sean Hoare, Lee Desmond and Brandon Miele (2015).

"A lot of good players are playing at home and it's an opportunity to see them up close and identify players who can offer something to the wider group for the campaign ahead," added King.

The Ireland manager added, "We've a tough qualifying campaign to come but there are opportunities there for players who are willing to step up to the challenge to go out and make an impression.

 "Gerry Davis’ new-look Amateurs will as always prove tough opponents as no doubt he will be anxious to progress his own squad for their upcoming International challenges."

The Republic of Ireland U-21 home squad squad is as follows:

Kevin Horgan (Shamrock Rovers)

Matthew Connor (Waterford FC)

Colm Deasy (Drogheda United)

Richie Purdy (Drogheda United)

Gary Boylan (Sligo Rovers)

Regan Donelan (Sligo Rovers)

Ryan Robinson (St Mochta's)

Rory Feely (St Patrick's Athletic)

Paudie O'Connor (Limerick FC)

Ethan Boyle (Finn Harps)

Georgie Poynton (Bohemians)

Jamie McGrath (Dundalk)

Darragh Noone (Bray Wanderers)

Josh Daniels (Derry City)

Ronan Curtis (Derry City)

Ben Doherty (Derry City)

Conor Melody (Galway United)

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.