23 Jan 2022

GALLERY: St. Mary's Kiltoghert win Overall Award

The County Finals of Scór na nÓg took place on Sunday December 4, in Ballinamore Community Centre.

The County finalists took to the stage to give their best polished performance to an eager audience and most importantly the judges.

In line with the new All-Ireland system of one single judge per competition, adjudicators from Westmeath & Sligo had the task of deciding the Leitrim finalists and had no easy tasks on the day as the efforts from the club left them with a lot of hard decisions to make.

Clubs that took part, made huge efforts to enter most of the competitions, in particular Mohill and St Mary's with a huge turnout of competitors.

It was great to see such a large crowd for the 2017 finals and to see many clubs making a comeback this year - Glencar/ Manorhamilton,  Dromahair and Carrigallen, fantastic to see new faces on the stage. Congratulations to all of the clubs that took part and help keep the tradition alive.

With no Leiriu or Set dancing entered for Leitrim this year, Ideally we would like to see participants competing in all categories next year.

Scór scriptwriting competition is underway through Croke park, this aims to provide counties with scripts for Leiriu and will help out clubs with ideas and plays to use for this competition. It is open to clubs to use these scripts and help build on ideas for Leiriu for future entries.

Medals were presented to the all the Leitrim winners by Terence Boyle, Chairperson of Leitrim County Board. The Cormac Mac Giolla Shield for Club na Bliana was an adjudicator’s choice this year and was won by Naomh Muire club for their huge participation.

Thanks to all the clubs and mentors for giving of their time so selflessly to aid and encourage the young people of their clubs to take part this year. It is safe to say the future of our Irish heritage and culture is safe and well in these young hands.

Winners are as follows:

Rince Foirne: Glencar/Manorhamilton

Amhranaíocht Aonair: Katie Conefrey, Fenagh

Ceol Uirlise: St Mary's

Aithriseoireacht: Michael Connorton, St Mary's

Bailéad Ghrúpa: St Mary's

The winners proceed to the Connacht Finals in, Claremorris, on Sunday January 15, 2017 at 2pm.

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.