Search our Archive


Three Leitrim students awarded J.P. McManus Scholarships

Three Leitrim students have been awarded a JP McManus All Ireland Scholarship toward their third level education.

The awards ceremony took place on Saturday November 25, at the University of Limerick where Minister of State for Higher Education Mary Mitchell-O’Connor, TD, presented the awards and special guest at this year’s Awards Ceremony was Irish President, Michael D. Higgins.

The Award winner were Marta Paykosh from Carrick-on-Shannon Community School is now attending Trinity College, Katharina Dietz of Lough Allen College who is in NUI Maynooth and Mohill Community College’s Evan Harkin who is studying in UCD.

Katharina Dietz, who is now studying Arts in Maynooth, said of the award “It’s amazing. I was in total shock when I got the letter and I’m so happy and I can hardly believe it. I want to go on Erasmus and improve my French and then after that I’ll probably become a teacher as that has always been my goal.”

This is the tenth year of the Scholarships, which are sponsored by JP McManus. A total of 125 students from both North and South of Ireland were presented with a third level scholarship certificate. Sponsored by JP McManus, the scheme is set to provide financial assistance to many high achieving students who completed their Leaving Certificate in 2017.

JP McManus has contributed €32 million to fund the provision of these scholarships each year and it is estimated that over 1,300 students from the 32 counties will benefit from the scheme over its duration.

The awards are administered by the Department of Education & Skills and Department of Education in Northern Ireland.

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.