01 Jul 2022

Shane Mallon gets second start for Ireland's U20 Six Nations clash with France

Mallon gets second start for Ireland's U20 Six Nations clash with France

Bornacoola's Shane Mallon retains his place for the Ireland U20 Six Nations clash with France

Bornacoola’s Shane Mallon has retained his place in the Ireland U20 team for Friday’s Six Nations clash with France in Aix-en-Provence after impressing on his debut against Wales last weekend.

Ireland coach Richie Murphy made four changes to the PwC sponsored team with Aitzol King, Daniel Hawkshaw, Ethan Coughlan and Rory McGuire coming into the side.

Ireland’s game will be televised lived on Virgin Media 2 on Friday evening with an 8pm kickoff.

Head coach Richie Murphy has named the Ireland team, sponsored by PwC, for Friday’s Under-20 Six Nations clash with France in Aix-en-Provence (kick-off 8pm Irish time, live on Virgin Media Two).

Commenting ahead of the top of the table clash, Murphy said “We were pleased with the performance and result in round one, but we’ve had to turn the page quickly ahead of a big challenge on Friday night.

“The players acquitted themselves well last week and we have been able to focus on the areas of our game that need refinement this week.

“There is no greater test than going away to France and the group are excited about that challenge.”

IRELAND UNDER-20 Team & Replacements (v France Under-20s, 2022 U-20 Six Nations Championship, Stade Maurice David, Friday, February 11, kick-off 9pm local time/8pm Irish time):

15. Patrick Campbell (Young Munster RFC/Munster)

14. Aitzol King (Clontarf FC/Leinster)

13. Ben Brownlee (UCD RFC/Leinster)

12. Daniel Hawkshaw (Clontarf FC/Leinster)

11. Shane Mallon (UCD RFC/Leinster)

10. Charlie Tector (Lansdowne FC/Leinster)

9. Ethan Coughlan (Shannon RFC/Munster)

1. Jack Boyle (UCD RFC/Leinster)

2. James McCormick (Ballymena RFC/Ulster)

3. Rory McGuire (UCD RFC/Leinster)

4. Conor O’Tighearnaigh (UCD RFC/Leinster)

5. Mark Morrissey (UCD RFC/Leinster)

6. James McNabney (Ballymena RFC/Ulster)

7. Reuben Crothers (Ballynahinch RFC/Ulster) (capt)

8. James Culhane (UCD RFC/Leinster)


16. Josh Hanlon (Ballynahinch RFC/Ulster)

17. Oisin Michel (Lansdowne FC/Leinster)

18. Darragh McSweeney (Shannon RFC/Munster)

19. Adam McNamee (Malone RFC/Ulster)

20. Conor Moloney (Young Munster RFC/Munster)

21. Matthew Devine (Galway Corinthians RFC/Connacht)

22. Tony Butler (Garryowen FC/Munster)

23. Dylan O’Grady (UCD RFC/Leinster)

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.