26 Sept 2022

Nominations released for Leitrim Sports Star Awards

Nominations released for Leitrim Sports Star Awards

Hall of Fame Award for Maeve Quinn

Time is running out if you want to get your tickets for the 2017 Leitrim Sports Star Awards on Friday, November 24, in Lough Rynn Castle Hotel, Mohill.

Should anyone wish to come along to support the nominees and enjoy what promises to be an excellent night of celebration you can purchase a ticket for €40 online at or by calling Leitrim Sports Partnership on 071 9650498 or emailing us on

We are delighted to reveal the nominees as follows:

Sports Individual Junior: Dillon Beirne - Golf; Muireann Devaney - Gaelic Football/Soccer; Matthew Earley - Rugby/Gaelic Football; Áine Lyons - Gymnastics; Niall Morahan - Soccer

Sports Individual Senior: Ailbhe Clancy Soccer/Gaelic Football; Donnacha Holmes  Ironman; Dympna Kelly Triathlon; Eanna Madden  Athletics; Liam Moreton Hurling; Siobhan Murtagh Duathlon; Gerard O’Donnell Athletics

Juvenile Team of the Year: Carrick Area U10 Community Games Team - All-Ireland B Champions; Glencar/Manor U13 Boys Team; Leitrim U16 Hurling Team; Leitrim Ladies U14 Team All-Ireland B Champions

Team of the Year: Leitrim Junior Football Team Connacht Champions; Leitrim Senior Hurling Team Lory Meagher Finalists; Mohill GAA. Senior Team Leitrim Senior Champions; St. Joseph’s Ladies  Leitrim Senior Champions

Best Sports School: Aughnasheelin NS; Largy NS; Scoil Mhuire NS Carrick-on-Shannon

Volunteer of the Year: Martin Cunniffe  Hurling; Dennis Doonan Athletics; Marie Honeyman Basketball; Eileen Maxwell Triathlon; Ann McGloin  Ladies Football

Special Achievement Awards: Michael Cornyn - Athletics; Melvin Gaels Gaelic 4 Girls; Melvin Gaels Gaelic 4 Mothers and Others; Martin McHugh Gaelic Football

Leitrim Observer Unsung Hero: John Kavanagh & Sinead McKeon

Hall of Fame Winner: Maeve Quinn

Congratulations to each and every one on being nominated for a Leitrim Sports Star Award, your dedication and hard work in sport is being recognised. Each winner will receive a specially handcrafted award presented by each of our generous sponsors.

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.