04 Jul 2022

BREAKING: Andy Moran names his first Championship team as Leitrim take on London

BREAKING: Andy Moran names his first Championship team as Leitrim take on London

Andy Moran has named his first team for a Leitrim Connacht Senior Championship match with one championship debutant named among the first 15 for Sunday’s clash with London in McGovern Emerald Park.

Darren Maxwell is the sole Leitrim debutant but there is some bad news for Leitrim fans with the news that Maxwell’s Ballinamore Sean O’Heslins clubmates Dean McGovern and Tom Prior have not been named in the 26 strong man squad for Sunday’s crunch clash.

Both McGovern and Prior suffered injuries in the Allianz NFL campaign which has ruled them out of Sunday’s game, exacerbating the loss of chief scorer Keith Beirne who is suspended for the contest.

There is a return to the starting line-up for Mohill’s Shane Quinn, Glencar Manorhamilton’s James Rooney and Ballinamore Sean O’Heslins Shane Moran.

Fenagh St Caillin’s have the biggest representation on the starting 15 with cousins Ryan and Riordan O’Rourke joining Donal Wrynn in the team while Mark Diffley (St Mary’s Kiltoghert) and Darragh Rooney (St Jude’s Dublin) also make the squad.

Glencar Manorhamilton (Paddy Maguire & James Rooney), Ballinamore Sean O’Heslins (Darren Maxwell & Shane Moran), Mohill (Shane Quinn & Domhnaill lLynn), Leitrim Gaels (Donal Casey & David Bruen) and Aughawillan (Pearce Dolan and Mark Plunkett) all have two players on the team.

The full Leitrim panel is as follows:

  1. Darren Maxwell (Ballinamore Sean O’Heslins)
  2. Mark Diffley (St Mary’s Kiltoghert)
  3. Donal Casey  (Leitrim Gaels)
  4. Paddy Maguire (Glencar Manorhamilton)
  5. James Rooney (Glencar Manorhamilton)
  6. Shane Quinn (Mohill)
  7. David Bruen (Leitrim Gaels)
  8. Pearce Dolan (Aughawillan)
  9. Donal Wrynn (Fenagh St Caillins)
  10. Domhnaill Flynn (Mohill)
  11. Mark Plunkett (Aughawillan)
  12. Riordan O’Rourke (Fenagh St Caillins)
  13. Ryan O’Rourke (Fenagh St Caillins)
  14. Shane Moran (Ballinamore Sean O’Heslins)
  15. Darragh Rooney (St Jude’s Dublin)
  16. Brendan Flynn (Leitrim Gaels)
  17. Evan Sweeney (Glencar Manorhamilton)
  18. Conor Dolan (Glencar Manorhamilton)
  19. Conor Reynolds (Annaduff)
  20. Ciaran Cullen (Aughnasheelin)
  21. Jack Heslin (Gortletteragh)
  22. Conor Farrell  (St Mary’s Kiltoghert)
  23. Emlyn Mulligan (St Mary’s Sligo)
  24. Cillian McGloin (Melvin Gaels)
  25. Aaron Hoare (Aughnasheelin)
  26. Oisín McCaffrey (Ballinamore Sean O’Heslins)

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.