Leitrim GAA County Board Awards

Leitrim GAA Hall of Fame Award for Patsy Prior

John Connolly


John Connolly

Leitrim GAA Hall of Fame Award for Patsy Prior

Leitrim GAA Hall of Fame winner Patsy Prior pictured at the recent Connacht Club Championship semi-final. Photo by Willie Donnellan

Aughawillan’s Patsy Prior is the Jim Lynch Hall of Fame award winner after the winners of the 2016 Leitrim GAA County Board awards were released this week.

A holder of nine Senior Championship medals, winning six with Ballinamore and a further three with his native Aughawillan after the club was reformed in the 1970s, Patsy will be a popular winner of the award which are presented at the County Board Dinner Dance in January.

Aughawillan also have another winner with County Final Man of the Match Pearse Dolan picking up the Senior Club Player of the Year. And the theme of youngsters picking up awards is continued with Ballinamore Sean O’Heslin’s Dean McGovern winning the Intermediate Club award while Aughavas’s Seamus Sweeney has won the Junior Club Player Award.

Glencar/Manorhamilton’s Paddy Maguire wins the prestigious County Player of the Year award as ten clubs are recognised in the Awards.

The following are the winners of the Coiste Chontae Liatroma Awards 2016

Jim Lynch Hall of Fame: Patsy Prior Aughawillan

County Player of Year: Paddy Maguire Glencar/Manorhamilton

Senior Club Player of Year: Pearse Dolan Aughawillan

Intermediate Club Player of Year: Dean McGovern Ballinamore Sean O’Heslin’s

Junior Club Player of Year: Seamus Sweeney Aughavas

Senior Referee of Year: Noel Heron Allen Gaels

Minor Player of Year: Darren Maxwell  Ballinamore Sean O’Heslin’s

U16  Player of Year: Aaron Hoare Aughnasheelin

Coiste na nÓg Referee of Year: Kevin Mallon Bornacoola

Club Grounds of Year: Allen Gaels

County Hurler of Year: Liam Moreton Carrick Hurling

Senior Club Hurler of Year: Niall McLoughlin Cluainin Iomaint

Junior Club Hurler of Year: Peter Poniard Cluainin Iomaint

Senior Handballer of Year: Joel Smith Glencar/Manorhamilton

Juvenile Handballer of Year: Cormac Scollan Fenagh Handball